Australian Sand Art

Standard

Australian Sand Art is a traditional artistic craft from the Maori people of New Zealand. Today we reviewed a great deal about what is different between a continent and country and how this applies to Australia. I am impressed that most of my children, through song, dance, and weekly discussions, have absorbed the geography that we have learned thus far.

Each child designed a simple image that we then asked them to paint with glue on cardstock. After painting with the glue the children would visit our “sand station” where they would select a certain color sand and then we would sprinkle the sand on top of the card so that sand would stick to every part that had glue. The designs turned out very well and the kids got really into making our sand art cards. I even received a few birthday cards at the end of class, because my kids remembered that it was my birthday last week. In order to celebrate, we had cake and chai and all my kids helped me blow out my candles! I made a wish that I can celebrate another birthday in Mathare with them.

Leave a Reply

