Feeling 50/50

Standard

I am equally excited and sad at the same time. Very excited to see many that are so close to my heart back home in The States, yet I am sad to leave many behind for the month I will be away from Kenya. How has it happened that I feel so closely connected and entangled in this “foreign land” ?

WHAT I WILL MISS

public transportation- those crazy matatus

walking everywhere

the pace of life here

teaching art to my students

eating with my hands

chai and chapati

nice weather always

people I am close to

fresh fruit

yogurt drinks

swahili

WHAT I LOOK FORWARD TO

walking late at night

driving a car

not standing out

swimming

wearing shorts

drinking wine

eating my mom’s food

experiencing summer and fall

seeing many friends

not being the foreigner

feeling competent

experimenting with new recipes

Leave a Reply

