Christmas Eve in Nairobi

Standard

This was my day of last minute errands, probably the only similarity to my eve’s back in the US. Walking to the Nakumat supermarket on Ngong road and then back, through Toy Market, I was able to buy a few stocking stuffers for my friend and buy a few last things for baking carrot cake oatmeal cookies (i know they may sound like overkill but the picture online looked soo good!).

Later Gabi and I mixed up the cookies and just hung around the house until 7pm came. My friend Astrid came and we all loaded into the car to go to a Christmas Eve Potluck Celebration.

When we arrived I immediately felt like God was faithfully filling me up in my need for familiar christmas traditions and feelings. There were decorations, a beautiful decorated tree, and the atmosphere of music and people chatting over cups of hot chai and food was comforting to me. We ate together, carolled together, sang happy birthday to Jesus (American and Kenyan style), while all the time just talking up a storm together with new and old faces.

This celebration lasted until past midnight so we welcomed Christmas day before returning home. Astrid and I had a sleepover that night, and I lit a candle my mom had sent as a way to honor and commemorate the long-standing tradition that Shyla and I have to sleep underneath the Christmas tree every Christmas eve. Mom had sent me my stocking, so that was propped up next to the “tree candle”, falling asleep listening to Christmas carols on the MP3.

Leave a Reply

