Sweet Potato Cake

Standard

Here in Kenya people do not like there cakes very sweet, just slighlty sweet. And so, as I attempt to do as a Kenyan would do I set about baking a just-slightly-so-sweet sweet potatoe cake for Bible study this week! There were a few challeneges: lack of measuring utensils, I ran out of baking powder, didn’t whip the egg whites, and I used cooked poatatoes, not raw, and did not measure them- just stuck em in. So replicating this recipe may be a bit difficult because of all the guestimations and unforseen obsticals but it was successful in the end! People were aksing me for the recipe and the cake went very fast! SO I must record what I did while its still in my head in case you’d like to try it…

 Sweet Potato Cake
1-1/2 c. cooking oil
1 cup sugar or even a bit less    
4 eggs, separated
Maybe 2 TBSP water
2 1/2 c. sifted cake flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder* 
½ tsp. ground nutmeg** 
½ tsp cardamon ***
2 medium sized sweet potatoes, already cooked, skins removed
1 tsp. Vanilla
Combine cooking oil and sugar and beat until smooth. Add egg yolks and beat well, then add water; then dry ingredients, which have been sifted together. Stir in potatoes, and vanilla and mix well. Then add egg whites into mixture. Bake in rectangle pan, greased and floured, at 350 degrees till golden brown. Now you can cook like a Mazungu Kenyan!
*the recipe called for 3 tsp's, I just ran out, but using 3 I think is better so the cake doesnt turn out so flat 
** the recipe called for 1 tsp

*** for more taste add more cardamon!

Leave a Reply

